Showdown At The Gear West Duathlon: Gold Gopher Guys vs Itchy & Scratchy

Image

The Gold Gopher Guys. My original partner Ben broke his ankle (or had his ankle broken, no one is making any accusations Steve). Jon Ryss, a charismatic champion and my long run buddy, was willing to step in at the last second. I didn’t even know until Saturday afternoon that I would need a substitute so Jon is probably the best team player ever. Together we were greatest and most glamorous duathlon relay team in the history of duathlon relays. We graciously gave our rivals Itchy & Scratchy a 12 minute headstart and went in our own special wave behind the rest of the field.

Image

Talking strategy, and about how awesome my custom Gold Guys visor is.

Image

Jon tearing through the first run in pursuit of Itchy and Scratchy

Image

Starting the ride I still had a fair bit of time to make up on Itchy and Scratchy’s cyclist, Pete Webster.

ImageImage

Pete (Scratchy of Itchy and Scratchy) on the move. He had the ride of his life.

Image

On my QR CD0.1 I was able to crank the fastest ride of the day and bring back 7 minutes on Pete but alas it was not enough to make up for the monstrous headstart.Image

Steve (Itchy of Itchy and Scratchy) suffers with terrible vision. During races he is incapable of hydrating properly without his glasses. I help him rehydrate after races by directly delivering a quick cup of water.

ImageImage

Jon hammered home on the 2nd run so we could get to our post race team embrace.

Image

Steve also suffers from inescapable and inoperable incontinence, as you can see.

Image

After a hard fought duel we reluctantly crowned Itchy and Scratchy champions of the special relay challenge.

Image

But we were not happy about it

Image

Steve and Pete enjoying their prestigious title. Fun fact: Pete might be the King of Denmark. Seriously, just look at him.

This was by far the most fun I’ve ever had at a duathlon. Steve and Pete and Jon were all great sports. I hope everyone has enjoyed the drama over the past couple months. Overall I am really proud to have mentored Steve in talking trash. And by mentored I do mean schooled. I can’t announce anything yet, but Steve and I are looking to end our rivalry by working TOGETHER on something at the Trinona Time Trial in a few weeks.

Image

This is from the Falls Duathlon a few weeks back but it is one of my favorites picture of my dad and I.

What is next? I head East for Rev3 Quassy next weekend. This will be a chance to measure myself against some of the best half-iron guys on the circuit. The next weekend I will head down for Trinona. Later in June I am excited to visit my sponsor The Gold Guys new location in Rochester when I race the Rochesterfest Triathlon

Image

What is that a picture of? Ironman Wisconsin! I have weighed all my racing options later in the year and Ironman Wisconsin offers me the chance to race a good course close to home in front of a huge Minnesota crowd. There are many options available to us pros and for me this season Ironman Wisconsin makes the most sense. If you are racing, volunteering, or spectating I will see you there! Get ready for a Gopher-Badger Ironwar!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

