Gopher-Badger Ironwar Update – Race Week Edition!

It is the week of Ironman Wisconsin and I will be watching not racing. The decision was fairly simple. I wasn’t strong enough on the run at Louisville to race competitively and won’t have magically improved between the two Ironmans. Had I been strong enough to run solidly at Louisville it may have been worth a shot at Wisconsin but with a very competitive field lined up at Wisconsin and Louisville still in my legs it simply does not make sense to race. I could swim and bike as a workout but I am not thrilled about starting a race with no intention of finishing, especially an Ironman. To me it seems disrespectful to the race organizers and to all the other athletes who will be gutting it out to get to the line. I’m recovering as fast as possible to get some serious work done before Ironman Arizona.
The “Gopher-Badger Ironwar” will be postponed until Ironman Arizona. Blake, Tom and I will have to settle our differences in the desert, Old West Style. What we are left with this weekend is a Badger Brawl to be crowned King of Madison. Blake, Tom, Paul and Jackie Arendt will be battling it out to be best of the Badger bunch. Jackie, being a female pro not a male pro, is going to get an equalizer – probably about 57 minutes the average difference of the male and female winners over the last 5 years. I am excited to see who amongst them wants it the most. Not to sound biased, but Jackie rides a QR so she will probably win. And don’t worry, there will still be a Gold Gopher Guy on the course – my pal Steve Brandes is excited to wear his Minnesota Jersey:
Image
I am still going to Madison to shout at my athletes and all Minnesotans. Secondary goal is to yell Ski U Mah as many times as possible at the Badger pros. Third, my athlete and part-time evil-twin Sam is volunteering with the intent to register for next year – Monday I am going to stand in line with him to make sure he actually signs up. It’s not that I don’t trust him, I just won’t believe he did it unless I see it with my own eyes.
In other weekend news I will be working with Ken Glah’s Endurance Sports Travel.  I am very excited to help look after athletes traveling to Madison. This opportunity came came up last second and I figured it would be a great way to make the most of the weekend.
A few weeks back I was contacted by the Make a Wish Foundation. There is a young man in St Paul who has a dream of racing a duathlon as a relay team with a professional triathlete. His story is a sad one, poor vision and weak legs prevents him from riding a bike fast on his own so it is his greatest wish to partner with a strong-legged, 20/20-seeing athlete like myself for a relay. He is a charter member of the St Paul chapter of my fan club, so shout out to you Steve S. or “Stevie” (as he prefers to be known). I’m looking forward to racing the Treadman Duathlon with you, bud! Lets make your dream come true!
In other future races news, my Norwegian BFF Jorgen is coming over to race Ironman Canada next year so obviously I’m going as well. If you were looking late August activities for 2014 please sign up and join us in Whistler. If you wanted a late September activity instead, sign up for Ironman Chattanooga 2014. Chattanooga is Quintana Roo’s hometown and I am going to race there as well. Am I shamelessly trying to get more Minnesotans to do the travel races I want to do? Absolutely. Sign up now. I will buy you a beer after the race, or a maple syrup or whatever it is they drink up there in Canada.
Jorgen and I representing Gear West Bike in Norway:
Image
Finally, last year the week of Ironman Wisconsin I tweeted out a series of helpful Ironman hints under the hashtag #prosknowbest. Here is an encore presentation of those tweets, get on twitter now to catch the 2013 edition of the #prosknowbest tweets! Follow me @dpalmertri
Devon Palmer ‏@dpalmertri4 Sep

Ironman Wisconsin this weekend. To celebrate I’ll dispense super valuable info with the hashtag #prosknowbest Please interpret it literally

Devon Palmer ‏@dpalmertri4 Sep

If this is your 1st IM & you are worried about the distance, Wed of race week is perfect time for a test run: 5hr ride+1hr run #prosknowbest

Ironman race week is the perfect time to tinker with bike fit #prosknowbest

Devon Palmer ‏@dpalmertri4 Sep

Final tip for today, race week I follow a strict a gluten-free-vegan-paleo diet. It is optimal. #prosknowbest

Ironmaners: If you skimped on weight training during IM prep best to freshen up your strength race week with a gym session Fri#prosknowbest
Ironmaners: Anxious? Calm yourself by writing a list of every single thing that could go wrong. Surely this will help… #prosknowbest
Race day nutrition. Best strategy: to talk to vendors at the expo, they will surely have some good suggestions. #prosknowbest

Devon Palmer ‏@dpalmertri6 Sep

Race day nutrition: if all else fails just pound down a McDouble @ mile 90 of the bike. Works for Thompson. #prosknowbest

Final note on race day nutrition: there are lots of nice places to eat on State Street if you get hungry on the run.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gopher-Badger Ironwar Update – Race Week Edition!

  1. Jorgen says:

    FYI: IM Canada is July 27th 2014, not in august.

Leave a Reply

